Matteo Trentin (Italy) gave his Quick Step squad another stage win of the 2017 Vuelta a España on Tuesday, two days after he was runner-up to teammate Yves Lampaert. Trentin, off to Orica-Scott next year, adds the triumph to a win earlier in the month at the Vuelta a Burgos. Chris Froome retained his red jersey.

The Course
The course’s profile descended steadily for 198-km from the start town of Escaldes-Engordany, with only a Cat. 3 bump in the middle of the course interrupting the trend. It was a hot day in Spain.

The Breakaway
Straight away, a foursome dashed down the road and then waited for a fifth rider to join. After the first hour and 44-km, the gap was 5:15.

On the Cat. 3 climb, the breakaway shattered, and two riders carried on in front. Stéphane Rossetto (France/Cofidis) took the maximum points. Meanwhile, leadership in the peloton had gone from Sky to Aqua Blue, Lotto-Soudal and Quick Step.

The Finale
Pressure mounted on the sprinters’ teams as the intrepid duo still had a 3:00 gap with 35-km to go. A crash took down Sunweb’s GC man Wilco Kelderman and he laboured to rejoin the field.

With 13-km remaining, the duo’s lead was 53-seconds, so the two riders started attacking one another. Their big day out came to an end with 7-km to go.

Positioning for the tight bend 300-metres from the line in Tarragona was going to be crucial. There was also plenty of roundabouts on the run-in. Once more, luck wasn’t on the side of Froome’s rivals, as Ilnur Zakarin needed a bike change.

Various attacks failed and no team could really grab the reins. In the finale, Trentin was third wheel and then followed LottoNL-Jumbo’s JJ Lobato, coming around the Spaniard on the left for the Grand Tour stage win hat trick.

Hugo Houle was top Canadian in 33rd.

Wednesday heads back into the mountains for the first summit finish, a 3.5-km, 10% knee-breaker.

2017 Vuelta a España Stage 4
1) Matteo Trentin (Italy/Quick Step) 4:43:57
2) JJ Lobato (Spain/LottoNL-Jumbo) s.t
3) Tom Van Asbroeck (Belgium/Cannondale) s.t
33) Hugo Houle (Canada/AG2R) s.t

2017 Vuelta a España GC
1) Chris Froome (Great Britain/Sky) 13:37:41
2) David de la Cruz (Spain/Quick Step) +0:02
3) Nicolas Roche (Ireland/BMC) s.t.
11) Michael Woods (Canada/Cannondale) +1:13


Leave a Reply