Home > News

Cycling Canada invites bike community to vote on selections for the Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame

Who would you want to see immortalized in a Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame?

Steve Bauer
Steve Bauer
Canadian cycling legend Steve Bauer, pictured here at the announcement of the Cycling Canada athletes who will be attending the 2015 Pan Am Games, is one of the inaugural nominees to the Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame. (Photo credit: Kevin Mackinnon)

Who would you want to see immortalized in a Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame?

That’s the question that Cycling Canada is putting forward, as the national cycling body announces the inaugural inductions to the Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame — soon to be an actual institution — on October 9 and 10, a ceremony being held in conjunction with the Canadian track championships in Milton, Ont.. Hosted at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre, the site of track riding at the Pan Am and Parapan Am Games, the facility will soon feature a Hall of Fame area on the ground floor — in essence, a shrine to Canada’s cycling greats.

“The Hall of Fame will allow us to showcase our history,” said Cycling Canada in a release, “and remember those athletes and builders that have brought the sport to its current position.” Considering all the medals accrued by Canadian riders during the 2015 Pan Am Games and other events — and that’s just during the last year alone — those pioneering riders, no doubt, can be credited with a lot in that respect.

“The [Hall of Fame] will provide a historical context,” Cycling Canada continued, “as well as inspire the current and future athletes to greater accomplishments.”

A list of those athletes and builders has been assembled by the Cycling Canada Board of Directors, representing the 2015 candidates for inclusion in the Hall of Fame. Out of that list, a final selection for this year will be made by the Cycling Canada Board of Directors. With this being the first year of the Hall of Fame, Cycling Canada intends to have up to ten members selected, with a similar number the following year chosen to account for what it calls a “historical backlog.” In the third year, a full nomination process will be involved.

Cycling Canada invites members of the cycling community to vote online for a minimum of three candidates and a maximum of ten. In alphabetical order, the 2015 candidates are:

1908 Men’s Team Pursuit: 1908 Olympic Bronze medal – 4000m Team Pursuit: William Anderson, Walter Andrews, Frederick McCarthy, Willie Morton

Steve Bauer: Olympic silver, 14 days Tour de France Yellow, Bronze World Championships, numerous wins and placings in high level races

Russell Coupland:
Former President Canadian Wheelman’s Assoc. (CCA) – Managed Cycling Olympic Team 1928 & 1932 – Officiated at 6 day races – Race organizer at Grassroots level in Toronto at the CNE fair grounds

Tanya Dubnicoff: 1993 World Champion, World Cup winner, 3 time Pan Am Champion, 2 time Olympian, multiple World Cup wins & World Championships placings

Curt Harnett: 1 silver and 2 bronze Olympic medals, multiple World Championships medals, 200m world record

Ron Hayman: Member 1972/76 Olympics teams, Tour of Somerville winner, Coors Classic stage winner, top amateur in Belgium (1979), Tour of Ireland winner, multiple international wins and placings

Clara Hughes: 2 Olympic bronze medals, Pan Am medals, Commonwealth Games Gold

Linda Jackson:
Commonwealth Games silver medal, World Championships bronze, HP International stage race winner, multiple international stage race wins and placings

Brian Jolly: 1968 Olympic cyclist for GB, multi-term CCA President (1993-2002), Board of Hamilton Road Worlds, Board of Hamilton Foundation, UCI Road & MTB Commission, Chairman of Tour of Alberta

Marc LeMay: First international MTB Commission president 1990 to 2001 – 2001 received UCI Award of Merit – instrumental in development of MTB as an Olympic sport, CCA President 1981 – 1992, COC Board 1982 – 1996

Jocelyn Lovell: Multiple gold, silver, bronze Commonwealth Games and Pan Am medals

Lori-Ann Muenzer: 2004 Athens Olympic gold (only cycling gold), Commonwealth Games medals 1998 & 2002, Silver 2000 World Championships

Torchy Peden: Dominant professional 6-day racer, 1928 Olympic team, multiple international wins (Coached Olympic team in 1932 & 1936)

Marie-Helene Premont:
2004 Olympic silver, 2 time Olympian, World Cup wins and champion, Commonwealth Games Gold, 6 time Canadian National MTB Champion

Gordon Singleton: Multiple world records, Pan Am gold medals (2), World Champion, World Championship silver medal

Alex Stieda: First North American to wear Tour de France Yellow Jersey, captured five classification jerseys in the TdeF and won a Commonwealth Games bronze medal

Karen Strong: World Championship silver and bronze medals and multiple international wins and placings

Alison Sydor: Olympic silver, 3 XC world titles, World Cup title. A multiple World and Canadian Champion or medalist in three different cycling disciplines (Mountain Bike, Road, Cyclo-cross)

Brian Walton: Silver medal 1996 Olympics, Pan Am gold medal, World Cup victories and placings, multiple international victories and placings, won Milk Race

Kelly Ann Way: First Canadian to wear Women’s Tour de France yellow jersey, multiple wins and placings

Eric Wohlberg: Gold medal ITT & Bronze Medal RR at 1998 Commonwealth Games, Winner 2000 Tour of the Gila, Multiple Canadian ITT National Titles