Home > News

Gallery: Canadians leave their mark on the 10th edition of the GP Montreal

Four Canadians infiltrate the breakaway, Nick Zukowsky wins the KOM and Michael Woods sprints to eighth

The 2019 edition of the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal went off under sunny skies though temperatures hovered in the high teens for most of the day. A total of 18 Canadians took the start and in the first kilometres of the 220 km race, four of them had made it into the breakaway.

Ryan Anderson and Matteo Dal-Cin represented Rally UHC while Nick Zukowsky and Charles-Étienne Chrétien were joined by Guy Sagiv of Israel Cycling Academy who also was in the break two days ago.

Svein Tuft, 42, started and did his very best to finish his final professional race but as the pace ramped up the decorated Canadian found the broom wagon for company before finally dropping out of his final professional foray but not before enjoying laps on his own with the crowd enthusiastically cheering him on.

The pace of the race took its toll. Guillaume Boivin, who suffered an awkward crash on Friday, dropped out while Antoine Duchesne was dropped from the front group. James Piccoli had a mechanical and ended up on a spare bike and after having spent the first half of the race in the front of the peloton, ended the day 10:26 back on the winner.

Hugo Houle would roll in 50 seconds after the winner along with Alex Cataford and Adam de Vos who both lasted upfront deep into the race. It was Michael Woods who enlivened the final of the race attacking on Camillien-Houde and then sprinting to eighth behind winner Greg Van Avermaet.

Woods received the prize for top Canadian while Zukowsky had a brilliant day winning the KOM competition, which was only possible by being the last breakaway survivor and making it over the climb ahead of the peloton after seeing three laps to go at the finish line.