Laurie Jussaume
Laurie Jussaume

Global Relay’s commitment to developing talented young Canadians into international calibre riders continues in 2018 the sixth year of the program. Global Relay Bridge-the-Gap has successfully propelled 25 Canadian riders to pro contracts and in 2018 welcomes 17 new athletes. The fund’s mission is, “to facilitate the advancement of aspiring Canadian Olympic road cyclists through mentorship, coaching and financial support.”

Team Canada in Bergen for the world championships.

Bridge-the-Gap will support 33 athletes from across Canada in 2018, 17 men and 16 women, as a number of riders from last year become alumni or move to proffesional teams. Support for youth cycling initiatives, mentorship programs and coaching support are also made. The Bridge-the-Gap board is made up of Canadian proffesional cyclists Svein Tuft (Mitchelton-Scott) and Ryan Anderson (Rally Cycling) along with former pros Erinne Willock and Andrew Pinfold, and director sportif Kevin Field.

Global Relay also supports BC Youth Superweek giving young riders a chance to race on the same courses ahead of the professionals in the high profile race series.

Charles-Etienne Chretien

“Over the years, it’s been a thrill to watch so many of the Fund’s athletes advance their careers and achieve fantastic results,” said Global Relay CEO Warren Roy. “As a company, to help so many up-and-coming Canadian riders work towards their dreams is important for us as one of the biggest supporters of competitive cycling in Canada. We’re committed to helping people reach their potential and wish all our riders the best of luck in 2018.”

2018 Global Relay Bridge-the-Gap athletes

Jordan Jones – Jerseyville, Ont.
Anna Talman – Vancouver
Derek Gee – Osgoode, Ont.
Connor – Toppings, Calgary
Alex Amiri – Mill Bay, B.C.
Thierry Kirouac-Marcassa – Boucherville, Que.
Ariane Bonhomme – Gatineau, Que.
Devaney Collier – Edmonton
Laurie Jussaume – Contrecoeur, Que.
Maggie Coles-Lyster – Maple Ridge, B.C.
Erin Attwell – Victoria
Oliver Evans – Victoria
Laurent Gervais – Lorraine, Que.
Vivien Rindisbacher – Toronto, Ont.
Graydon – Staples Oro-Medonte, Ont.
Marc-Antoine – Nadon Timmins, Ont.
Edward Walsh – Halifax
Matthew Staples – Oro-Medonte, Ont.
Danick Vandale – Winnipeg
Noah Simms – Barrie, Ont.
Alec Cowan – Calgary
Kurt Penno – Sandford, Man.
Charles-Etienne Chretien – Amos, Que.
Gabby Traxler – Calgary
Emily Marcolini – Sudbury, Ont.
Gabrielle Pilote Fortin – Neuville, Que.
Catherine Ouellette – Saint-Lambert, Que.
Emily Flynn – Gatineau, Que.
Miriam Brouwer – Burlington, Ont.
Dana Gilligan – Craighurst, Ont.
Gillian Ellsay – Courtenay, B.C.
Katherine Maine – Ottawa

Report error or omission


Leave a Reply