Home > 2014 Canadian Cyclocross Championships

Mike Garrigan gives ‘er, wins Canadian cyclocross title in Winnipeg

2014 Shimano Canadian cyclocross championships logo

Seven years after he first became the Canadian cyclocross champion, Mike Garrigan (Van Dessel Factory Team) crushed the course at The Forks in Winnipeg Saturday to repeat the feat. Garrigan took a large lead in the early laps and then held off Michael van den Ham (Trek Red Truck) and reigning champ Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox) in a dramatic and thrilling finale.

Garrigan was second through the hole shot after Andrew L’Esperance (Norco), while 2013 runner-up Andrew Schooler (Focus CX Team) crashed on the first passage over the Knoll of Pain. Soon Garrigan took the lead with Van den Ham in third before the first assault of the sandpits. At the end of lap one, Garrigan had an 8-second lead over a half dozen riders.

Over the course of the second lap, Garrigan extended his lead while Van den Ham, Kabush and Evan McNeely (Norco) separated themselves to become the main chasers. After three laps Garrigan, who lives in Brooklyn, New York, had a 20-second gap. On the fifth lap, as the shadows lengthened, McNeely fell off, leaving Kabush and Van den Ham to work together in pursuit.

Garrigan went into the final lap with a seven second lead. It was desperate stuff for Garrigan as five-time winner Kabush began to push hard. Then it was Van den Ham labouring to shut the gap. Garrigan turned himself inside out to hang on and beat Geoff Kabush by a handful of seconds. Van den Ham, last year’s U23 champion, took the bronze. Schooler, last year’s runner-up, fought back to place fourth.

Elite men results

Place Name City Team Time Gap
1 Mike Garrigan Brooklyn, NY Van Dessel Factory Team 58:37:00  
2 Geoff Kabush N. Vancouver, BC Scott-3Rox Racing 58:39:00 0’02”
3 Michael Van Den Ham Edmonton, AB Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes 58:44:00 0’07”
4 Aaron Schooler Edmonton, AB Focus CX Team 59:35:00 0’58”
5 Evan McNeely Kingston, ON Norco Factory Team 59:50:00 1’13”
6 Craig Richey N. Vancouver, BC Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes 1:00:07 1’30”
7 Mark McConnell Calgary, AB Synergy Racing P/B Sri Importing 1:01:02 2’25”
8 Derrick St John Gatineau, QC Silber Pro Cycling Team 1:01:19 2’42”
9 Peter Glassford Collingwood, ON Trek Canada MTB 1:01:27 2’50”
10 Shawn Bunnin Calgary, AB Deadgoat Racing 1:01:28 2’51”
11 Dustin Andrews Calgary, AB Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes 1:02:10 3’33”
12 Andrew L’Esperance Halifax, NS Norco Factory Team 1:02:23 3’46”
13 Connor Wilson Edmonton, AB Juventus CC 1:03:18 4’41”
14 Brett Wakefield Maple Ridge, BC Local Ride Racing 1:03:30 4’53”
15 Cuylar Conly Grasswood, SK Range Road Racing 1:03:36 4’59”
16 Evan Wishloff Spruce Grove, AB Pedalhead Race Room 1:04:49 6’12”
17 Matthew Staneland Jasper, AB   1:05:09 6’32”
18 Richard Machhein Maple Ridge, BC Local Ride Racing 1:05:52 7’15”
19 Shane MacNaughton Saskatoon, SK BCW Cycling Cub – 1 lap  
20 Nathan Poulton Guelph, ON Waterloo Cycling Club – 1 lap  
21 Scott Theede Saskatoon, SK BCW Cycling Cub – 1 lap  
22 Dylan Harris Winnipeg, MB Olympia CC – 1 lap  
23 Graham Madden Winnipeg, MB Dark Red Racing – 2 lap  
DNS Jaron Friesen Winnipeg, MB CMU Cycling