Home > Cyclocross

Rochette powers to her second Canadian elite women’s cyclocross title

Ruby West is under-23 champion for second consecutive year

Maghalie Rochette, fresh off her Pan-American championship, took her second national title on Saturday at the 2018 Shimano Canadian cyclocross championships in Peterborough, ON. In the under-23 side of the race, Ruby West retained her title, her third in four years.

Nineteen elite women launched at 4:00 pm and 18 under-23 riders took off a minute later. Rochette grabbed an early lead, with Jenn Jackson, Sandra Walter–on the podium in the last three editions–and two time champion Mikal Dyck behind her. Ruby West led the way for the under-23 gang on the first of four laps.

On the second of five laps Rochette kept prying open the gap. Even though 2016 Olympic Games medalist and 2013 titlist Catharine Pendrel had a tough start, she moved into fourth behind Jackson and Walter.

West’s lead was over a minute halfway through her under-23 contest, Dana Gilligan working away in the second spot.

Rochette took 1:15 into the bell lap. Jackson versus Walter was the engrossing contest, and the AWI Racing rider clung tenaciously to the silver spot. Walter has been on the elite women’s podium for four straight years now.

2018 Canadian elite women’s cyclocross championship
1) Maghalie Rochette (CX Fever p/b Specialized) 45:48
2) Jenn Jackson (AWI Racing) +1:34
3) Sandra Walter (Liv Cycling Canada) +1:45

2018 Canadian under-23 women’s cyclocross championship
1) Ruby West (Specialized-Ten Speed Hero) 38:41
2) Dana Gilligan (Macogep-Argon 18) +1:37
3) Laurie Arsenault (ACQ) +1:47