Home > Cyclocross

Sanne Cant wraps up Superprestige title

Belgian also World Champion, DVV Trofee winner and World Cup runner up in 2018-2019

While Dutch ace Mathieu van der Poel’s 2018-2019 season elicited gasps of awe, Belgian Sanne Cant quietly rode a similar campaign. Her fourth place in Saturday’s last round of the Superprestige series in Middelkerke, Belgium assured her the Superprestige title, which she can add to this season’s World Championship, DVV Trofee and World Cup runner-up spot.

Denise Betsema won in Middelkerke on Saturday, earning her third place in the Superprestige overall. It was a breakout year for both Betsema, who also took the Koksijde round of the World Cup, and Saturday’s runner-up, Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado. Cant won three Superprestige races in a row and edged out Annemarie Worst for the title.

Cant also won DVV Trofee, a series that uses time as a metric instead of points. Cant took two of the eight races to beat Loes Sels by 1:25. Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado won the Brussels round in her impressive season. It was Cant’s sixth DVV Trofee; she started winning them when they were called the Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee.

Van der Poel wrapped up his fourth Superprestige on Saturday, beating World Cup titlist Toon Aerts in the overall standings by taking all eight races. His second DVV Trofee in a row came courtesy of winning seven of the eight races. Triumphs in six of the nine World Cup races saw him place third in that competition. Surely his season highlight was winning his second world championship.