Home > Rides+Events

How (and when) to watch the Tokyo Olympics cycling events from Canada

With time zone differences the schedule is not exactly as it seems

Catharine Pendrel

The time difference between Canada and Tokyo is quite large. That means when Canadians line up for the various cycling disciplines in Tokyo, most fans at home will be watching very early in the morning or late at night the day before.

Take a close look at the schedule below to see what day Canadians are racing and what day that broadcast will be live in Canada (hint: the latter is especially important for West Coast fans)

Where to watch the Olympic Games

In Canada, CBC has the exclusive broadcasting rights to broadcast the Olympics. Starting with Friday’s opening ceremony, Canadians will be able to access the events via live stream on the CBC Gem streaming service and app, the CBC Tokyo 2020 website, the CBC Olympics app and CBC TV apps. The Games will also be aired on CBC and CBC News Network, and also through broadcast partners TSN and Sportsnet. CBC has also made a deal with Amazon Prime Video to give members access to Olympic coverage at no additional charge.

Event programming will be in English and French. The opening and closing ceremonies will also be presented with closed captioning, described video and ASL integrations and offered in eight Indigenous languages.

The 22 cycling events kick off on the first official day of the Games, Friday, July 22 and run until Aug. 7 (technically on Aug. 8 in the Tokyo time zone). Viewers can tune in to catch 23 Canadians competing in four disciplines: road cycling, mountain biking, track cycling and BMX racing. BMX freestyle was newly added to this Olympics, but no Canadians will compete in the event.

Most track and BMX events have qualification rounds, which are marked in the Olympics schedule.

Here is a list of some of the races for which you’ll want to stay up late (or wake up early) to catch our riders competing in Tokyo.

Men’s road race

Friday, July 23
10:00 P.M. EDT / 7:00 P.M. PDT, Friday, July 23

Guillaume Boivin (Montréal, Que.)
Hugo Houle (Ste-Perpétue, Que.)
Michael Woods (Ottawa, Ont.)

Women’s road race

Sunday, July 25
12:00 A.M. EDT – Sunday July 25
9:00 P.M. PDT – Saturday July 24

Karol-Ann Canuel (Amos, Que.)
Alison Jackson (Vermilion, Alta.)
Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg, Man.)

Men’s cross country MTB

Monday, July 26
2:00 A.M. EDT – Monday, July 26
11:00 P.M. PDT – Sunday, July 25

Peter Disera (Horseshoe Valley, Ont.)

Women’s cross country MTB

Tuesday, July 27
2:00 A.M. EDT – Tuesday, July 27
11:00 P.M. PDT – Monday, July 26

Catharine Pendrel (Kamloops, B.C.)
Haley Smith (Uxbridge, Ont.)

Women’s individual time trial

Tuesday, July 27
10:30 P.M. EDT/7:30 P.M. PDT

Karol-Ann Canuel (Amos, Que.)
Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg, Man.)

Men’s individual time trial

Wednesday, July 28
1:00 A.M. EDT
10:00 P.M. PDT – Tuesday, July 27

Hugo Houle (Ste-Perpétue, Que.)

Men’s BMX racing finals

Thursday, July 29
10:40 P.M. EDT – Thursday, July 29
7:40 P.M. PDT – Wednesday, July 28

(If qualified for final:)
James Palmer (North Vancouver, B.C.)

Women’s BMX racing finals

Thursday, July 29
10:50 P.M. EDT/7:50 P.M. PDT – Wednesday, July 28

(If qualified for final:)
Drew Mechielsen (Langley, B.C.)

Women’s team sprint

Monday, Aug. 2
5:00 A.M. EDT/2:00 A.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Lauriane Genest (Lévis, Que.)
Kelsey Mitchell (Sherwood Park, Alta.)

Women’s team pursuit

Tuesday, Aug. 3
4:05 A.M. EDT/1:05 A.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Allison Beveridge (Calgary, Alta.)
Ariane Bonhomme (Gatineau, Que.)
Jasmin Duehring (Coquitlam, B.C.)
Annie Foreman-Mackey (Kingston, Ont.)
Georgia Simmerling (Vancouver, B.C.)

Men’s team sprint

Tuesday, Aug. 3
4:35 A.M. EDT/1:35 A.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Hugo Barrette (Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Que.)
Nick Wammes (Bothwell, Ont.)

Men’s team pursuit

Wednesday, Aug. 4
4:45 A.M. EDT/1:45 A.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Vincent de Haître (Cumberland, Ont.)
Michael Foley (Milton, Ont.)
Derek Gee (Osgoode, Ont.)
Jay Lamoureux (Victoria, B.C.)
Adam Jamieson (Horseshoe Valley, Ont.)

Women’s keirin

Thursday, Aug. 5
4:37 A.M. EDT/1:37 A.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Lauriane Genest (Lévis, Que.)
Kelsey Mitchell (Sherwood Park, Alta.)

Men’s sprint

Friday, Aug. 6
5:00 A.M. EDT/2:00 A.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Hugo Barrette (Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Que.)
Nick Wammes (Bothwell, Ont.)

Men’s Madison

Saturday, Aug. 7
3:55 A.M. EDT/12:55 A.M. PDT

Michael Foley (Milton, Ont.)
Derek Gee (Osgoode, Ont.)

Women’s sprint

Saturday, Aug. 7
10:20 P.M. EDT/7:20 P.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Lauriane Genest (Lévis, Que.)
Kelsey Mitchell (Sherwood Park, Alta.)

Men’s keirin

Saturday, Aug. 7
10:51 P.M. EDT/7:51 P.M. PDT

(If qualified for final:)
Hugo Barrette (Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Que.)
Nick Wammes (Bothwell, Ont.)

Women’s omnium

Saturday, Aug. 7
9:00 P.M. EDT/6:00 P.M. PDT—11:25 P.M. EDT/8:25 P.M. PDT

Allison Beveridge (Calgary, Alta.)