Across Europe and in the United States on Sunday, cyclocross national championships were contested. Many races saw many dominant performances by repeat champions while in a few cases new champions were crowned.


On a snow-covered course in Hartford, Connecticut America’s best cyclocross racers competed for the stars and stripes.

Ellen Noble won the under-23 women’s title ahead of Emma White ( while Lance Haidet (Clement Pro Cycling) won in a thrilling and tightly contested men’s U23 race.

Katie Compton (KFC Racing-Trek) stamped her authority with her 13th consecutive American national cyclocross title in the elite women’s race after Kaitlin Antonneau ( took an early led that quickly evaporated. Compton rode a steady race to take a comfortable win.

In the men’s race, defending champion Jeremy Powers whose season has been an utter disappointment was unable to defend his title. Having won four of the last five title and three in a row, Powers was unseated by 13th ranked UCI rider Stephen Hyde ( Hyde powered away early and rode a clean race. Dismounting meters before crossing the line, Hyde lifted his bike over his head as second place Jamey Driscoll tried to make a late charge. It appeared that Hyde’s derailleur had fallen off the frame some time in the race’s final lap. Third place went to Kerry Werner


Mariana Vos (WM3 Pro Cycling) won her sixth elite women’s Dutch cyclocross title ahead of Lucinda Brand who finished second and Sophie de Boer who ended the day in third.

Mathieu van der Poel recovered sufficiently from a heavy crash 10 days ago to win his third consecutive elite men’s Dutch title. The 21-year-old had injured his neck at the Azencross race on Dec. 29. He won ahead of Corne van Kessel and Joris Nieuwenhuis.


Sanne Cant (IKO Enertherm-Beobank) won her eight consecutive Belgian national cyclocross title ahead of Laura Verdonschot finishes second and Ellen Van Loy was third.

Wout Van Aert won the elite men’s Belgian title unchallenged on the great course at the Ostend hippodrome and North Sea beach. The 22-year-old world champion won with a margin of 49 seconds over Kevin Pauwels who finished second and Laurens Sweeck who crossed the line in third


Ian Fields (Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma) celebrated his fifth national cyclocross title in his home country of Yorkshire  while in the women’s race Nikki Brammeier (Boels-Dolamans) won her third title.


Leave a Reply