How To Watch: Albstadt World Cup XCO

Cheer from home as Canada's fastest take on the world in Germany

May 16th, 2019 by | Posted in MTB | Tags: ,

World Cup cross country racing is finally back, and you can watch all the action from home, streamed live from Albstadt, Germany.

Short Track XCC Racing – Friday, May 17

Racing starts Friday, May 17 with the Short Track (XCC) racing, which will determine who lines up in the first two rows of the start grid on Sunday in the XCO finals. This will be the second year of XCC racing, with the short, fast-paced format making its debut in Albstadt mid-way through the 2018 season.

RELATED: Canadians to watch at World Cup XCO #1 in Albstadt

Only the top-40 racers are allowed to start the XCC event, based off of UCI ranking. That means there will be several Canadians with the option to race Friday. For the women, Emily Batty, Catharine Pendrel, Haley Smith, and Sandra Walter should have the opportunity to race. Cindy Montambault may get the last minute call, should anyone ranked higher than her decline to start Friday’s race. On the men’s side, Raphaël Gagné and Peter Disera look like they’ll have the option to race Friday’s XCC.

Albstadt World Cup 2017
Image: Bartek Wolinski / Red Bull Content Pool
Olympic Cross Country – Sunday, May 19

Twenty three Canadians are on the startlist for the first cross country World Cup of the season when finals start on Sunday, between the elite and under-23 fields.

Canada, as ever, has a number of women looking to be on the front in the elite women’s race. Emily Batty, Haley Smith and two time world champion Catharine Pendrel will all be looking to start their season fast. On the men’s side, Canadians have been moving up steadily through the ranks.

RELATED: Watch: Rob Warner meets Emily Batty

You can cheer on the elite men and women from home, with all the action streaming live (or re-played later in the day) on on Red Bull TV.

Mathieu van der Poel World Cup Albstadt
Mathieu van der Poel racing the 2018 UCI World Cup in Albstadt, Germany Image: Bartek Wolinski/Red Bull Content Pool

UCI Downhill World Cup XCO #1 : Albstadt, Germany – May 17-19, 2019

XCC World Cup (Short Track) Albstadt, Germany – Friday, May 17, 2019
8:20 AM PDT (Vancouver)
11:20 AM EDT (Toronto)
Women’s Finals: XCO World Cup Albstadt, Germany  – Sunday, May 19, 2019
2:00 AM PDT (Vancouver)
5:00 AM EDT (Toronto)
Men’s Finals: XCO World Cup Albstadt, Germany  – Sunday, May 19, 2019
5:15 AM PDT (Vancouver)
8:15 AM EDT (Toronto)