Home > MTB

St-Felicien wraps up 2023 XCO Canada Cup season

Julianne Sarrazin and Tyler Clark wrap up 2023 season titles

Photo by: Nick Iwanyshin

Both mountain bike Canada Cup series wrapped up for 2023 over the weekend. While cross country racers powered around St-Felicien, Que., downhillers flew down Sun Peaks Resort in B.C.. Tyler Orschel and Jocelyn Stel earned wins on Sunday in Quebec, while Julianne Sarrazin and Tyler Clark wrapped up 2023 season titles.

Elite Men and Women: A tale of two Tylers and Stel versus Quebec

In the elite women’s race, Jocelyn Stel took on a strong home-province field in Quebec and walked away with the win. She led Roxane Vermette and Lea Bouchard across the line in St-Felicien.

In the overall standings, though, it was Julianne Sarrazin earning the season title. With her performance in St-Felicien, Bouchard closes to just 30 points behind Sarrazin’s winning total of 640. Catryana Marcotte ends the year just 10 points further back in third overall.

The elite men’s field ended with two Tylers on top. Tyler Orschel wins the final Canada Cup of the season. He was followed across the line by Victor Verreault and Noah Ramsay.

Tyler Clark takes the 2023 elite men’s Canada Cup title, 99 points ahead of William Pilote. New Zeland’s Cameron Jones places third, 21 points further back from Pilote, off the basis of three strong results mid-season before heading off to win Transrockies Singletrack 6 stage race.

Juniors and under-17

In the junior men’s race, Felix Antoine Leclair would finish first in St-Felicien and, with that result, move up the Canada Cup standings. Raphaël Piché and Julien Desjardins complete a Quebec sweep of the junior men’s podium.

Ian Ackert already accumulated enough points to retain the 2023 Canada Cup title. Leclair moves into second, making a strong push up the standings in the latter half of the season, with Mika Comaniuk moving into third.

Ayana Gagne takes the win for the junior women in St-Felicien, followed by Justine Tremblay and Mia de Martin. But Stimulus Orbea’s powerhouse team of new world champions Isabella Holmgren, Marin Lowe, second at worlds, and Ava Holmgren sweep the overall, in that order.

Nicholas Gauthier earned the top podium step for the under-17 men, followed by Albert Raymond and Arnaud Lajoie. In the Canada Cup standings, though, Tristan Taillefer wins the 2023 series. Ethan Wood and Nicholas Gauthier follow in second and third in the season standings.

Rafaelle Carrier wrapped up a perfect Canada Cup season, winning each of the five races she entered (Calgary’s Nico Knoll won the Whistler Canada Cup). Lily Rose Marois and Maude Ruelland finished second and third in St-Felicien, all three riding for CVM Sigma Assurance. They finish the Canada Cup series in the same order, with Knoll 50 points behind in fourth.

Full results from the St-Felicien Canada Cup are online now. Complete 2023 Canada Cup season standings are also online.