Alison Jackson

Photo: @dmunsonphoto

After a year racing in Europe for BePink-Cogeas, Alison Jackson of Vermillion, B.C. has signed with UCI Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank. Jackson joins Canadian Lex Albrecht of Montreal who resigned with Tibco-SVB after also racing for BePink in 2016.

“I am thrilled to add another strong Canadian to the roster,” said team founder and president Linda Jackson. “I’ve been watching Alison since she burst on to the scene in 2014 and am delighted to add her talents to our roster.”

RELATED: Siblings Gillian and Nigel Ellsay join Rally Cycling for 2018

This season Jackson came third at Canadian nationals in 2017, helped her team win the team time trial at the Setmana Ciclista Valenciana stage race in Spain and represented Canada at the 2017 road world championships in Bergen, Norway. Last year, Jackson won stages at the Tour Cycliste Féminin International de l’Ardèche and Trophée D’or Féminin.

2017 Alison Jackson (BePink-Colgeas) on the podium at Canadian road nationals.

“I had a great time racing full-time in Europe this season, and look forward to using that experience to contribute to team success, both in North American races and in Europe,” Jackson said. “Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank has a great program, a fantastic race calendar and continues to be one of the top North American-based teams.”

TIBCO-SVB also announced the resigning of Ingrid Drexel road and time trial Mexican national time trial, Nicolle Bruderer of Guatamala, Kendall Ryan (U.S.), Kate Buss (U.S.) and Jennifer Tetrick (U.S.). New signings include Alice Cobb (Great Britain), Emma Grant (Great Britain), Shannon Malseed (Australia) and Emily Newsom (U.S.).

RELATED: Where will Canada’s top road cyclists be in 2018?

“We had a very rewarding 2017 season,” said sports director Ed Beamo. “We have retained a solid core of key riders and have added some dynamic new talent. We have some great personalities and motivated athletes, and I’m excited about the season ahead.”

2018 TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank roster

Lex Albrecht (Canada)
Nicolle Bruderer (Guatemala)
Kate Buss (U.S.)
Alice Cobb (Great Britain)
Ingrid Drexel (Mexico)
Emma Grant (Great Britain)
Alison Jackson (Canada)
Shannon Malseed (Australia)
Emily Newsom (U.S.)
Kendall Ryan (U.S.)
Jennifer Tetrick (U.S.)

Report error or omission


Leave a Reply