Home > News

Canada’s Boilard fifth in junior women’s time trial at Innsbruck world championships

Nickolas Zukowsky early leader of U23 men's chrono

Innsbruck ITT

Canada had a fine result on the first day of individual competition at the Innsbruck, Austria 2018 UCI Road World Championships on Monday. In the first chrono of the championships, Canadian Simone Boilard took fifth place, with Dutch rider Rozemarijn Ammerlaan earning the gold. In the U23 men’s race, Dane Mikkel Bjerg repeated as champion, as Denmark placed two athletes on the podium.

Amnerlaan bumped Italian Camilla Alessio off the hot seat late in the Junior women’s proceedings with a time of 27:02 over 20-km. Last year the gold and silver went to Italians. Alessio took silver and Elynor Bäckstedt, British daughter of Magnus Bäckstedt, the Swedish winner of 2004 Paris-Roubaix, was the bronze medalist.

Another Canadian, Magdeleine Vallieres, was one of the riders who took on the course when it was raining. She was 46th, +3:10.

The Under-23 Men had 27.7-km to roll. Like the Junior Women, they faced a few lumps in the route. Canadian Nickolas Zukowsky was the fifth to head out of the start house. With twelve fellows having finished, Zukowsky was in the hot seat with 33:51.

Brit Ethan Hayter nicked Zukowsky’s top time with 33:16 and the Canadian descended the ladder as his compatriot Adam Roberge started his ride. Roberge then stopped the clock at 34:39. Belgian Brent van Moer led the field at 33:04.

The reigning champion Mikkel Bjerg of Denmark was the last to start and he smashed the intermediate time at the 18.1-km mark.

There was no denying Bjerg, who beat van Moer by 33-seconds.

Zukowsky placed 21st and Roberge 40th.

Tuesday is the Junior men and elite women in the races against the clock.

Innsbruck 2018 Junior Women’s Individual Time Trial
1) Rozemarijn Ammerlaan (The Netherlands) 27:02
2) Camilla Alessio (Italy) +0:07
3) Elynor Bäckstedt (Great Britain) +0:18
5) Simone Boilard (Canada) +0:24
46) Magdeleine Vallieres (Canada) +3:10

Innsbruck 2018 Under 23 Men’s Individual Time Trial

1) Mikkel Bjerg (Denmark) 32:31
2) Brent van Moer (Belgium) +0:33
3) Mathias Norsgaard Jorgensen (Denmark) +0:38
21) Nickolas Zukowsky (Canada) +1:20
40) Adam Roberge (Canada) +2:08