Home > News

Derek Gee, Paula Findlay and Ngaire Barraclough repeat as national time trial champions

Ineos' Michael Leonard claims first under-23 title

Derek Gee at the national time trial championships Photo by: Grégoire Crevier

The 2023 Canadian road championships kicked off in Edmonton, on Friday with a full slate of time trials. Hometown rider Paula Findlay defended her elite title, Derek Gee repeated as national chrono champion and Ngaire Barraclough once again bore away the under-23 laurels.

First up were the Junior Women, 34 of them rolling 19.4 km at Sherwood Park. Nora Linton, fifth last year over 16 km, took the big prize with a time of 27:05. World junior cyclocross champion Isabella Holmgren also rose in the table since 2022, taking silver. Eloise Camire claimed her second consecutive Junior women’s time trial podium after clocking 27:48.

Gold) Nora Linton (AG Insurance-Soudal Quick Step U19) 27:05
Silver) Isabella Holmgren (Stimulur Orbea) +0:16
Bronze) Éloise Camiré (Equipe du Québec) +0:43

In the first Paracyling events the C1-5 men and women and H3-5 men raced the same course as the Junior women. Charles Moreau prevailed in the H3-5 category and Michael Sametz of Team Alberta took the C1-5 title, with Jessica Law the women’s champion. T1-2 men and women had a 12.9 km route; Louis Albert Corriveau Jolin was the fastest of the men, and Shelley Gautier earned the women’s title. The men’s H1-2 raced 12.9 km as well–Martin Duif was tops.

The 47 Junior Men faced 29 km. Equipe du Québec’s Jonathan Hinse was an early leader with 38:41, but Matthew Ney of Red Truck Racing hammered the course, clocking 36:33. Incredibly, Charles Bergeron also posted 36:33, but was 0.1 seconds slower.

Gold) Matthew Ney (Red Truck Racing) 36:33
Silver) Charles Bergeron (Ignite Junior Cycling) s.t.
Bronze) Sasha Renaud Trombley (Equipe du Québec) +0:45

There were also 45 Elite and U23 Women rolling the same 29 km as Ney and company. There were a lot of aces in this deck: Alison Jackson, Ariane Bonhomme, Sara Poidevin, Olivia Baril, Simone Boilard and Sarah van Dam. An early marker was Nadia Gontova’s 40:33. Last year’s U23 champ Ngaire Barraclough was rampaging along the early part of the course, the fastest at the first time-check. She too would repeat as champion.

Van Dam, another U23, cracked Gontova’s mark with 40:02. Baril, who hasn’t finished outside a stage race GC top 20 this season for WorldTour Team ADQ, took over the lead with 39:00, but Findlay wouldn’t be denied. “Action” Jackson, the 2021, just missed the medals.

Elite Women
Gold) Paula Findlay (Unaffiliated) 38:26
Silver) Olivia Baril (Team ADQ) +0:34
Bronze) Jenna Nestman (Goldman Sachs ETFs) +1:04

U23 Women
Gold) Ngaire Barraclough (Independent) 39:49
Silver) Sarah van Dam (DNA Pro Cycling) +0:13
Bronze) Camille Primeau (Primeau Vélo Racing) +1:09

Finally, the 54 Elite and U23 Men set on their 38.6-km chrono. U23 rider Jonas Walton was on the hot seat early with 45:27. The youngest man on the WorldTeams, Ineos’ Michael Leonard, usurped the throne after posting 44:33. Nick Zukowsky, who recently wore the KOM jersey at the Tour de Suisse, was top Elite rider with 44:48 until Gee finished his run. Leonard hung on to beat last year’s U23 champion Tristan Jussaume.

U23 Men
Gold) Michael Leonard (Ineos) 44:33
Silver) Tristan Jussaume (Equipe du Québec) +0:45
Bronze) Jonas Walton (Team Ecoflo Chronos) +0:54

Elite Men
Gold) Derek Gee (Israel-Premier Tech) 44:14
Silver) Nick Zukowsky (Q36.5) +0:34
Bronze) Matteo Dal-Cin (Toronto Hustle) +0:51

Men B
Gold) Lowell Taylor Team Alberta
Silver) Benoit Lalumiere-Cloutier  Equipe du Quebec
Bronze) Mathieu Croteau Daigle Equipe du Quebec

Women B
Gold) Carla Shibley Alberta

Full results available on Zone4.com

The Junior Men’s and Women’s road races are on tap for Saturday.