Rally Cycling

American UCI Pro Continental team Rally Cycling which topped the America Tour team standings in 2017 will feature a roster rich with Canadian talent in 2018. The team confirmed that Ryan Anderson, Rob Britton, Matteo Dal-Cin, Adam de Vos and Nigel Ellsay will all ride for the men’s team as it moves up the ranks for next season. That is in addition to the six Canadian women on the team for 2018.

The assembled Canadians represent a mix of veteran experience and promising developing talent. Anderson, 30, of Spruce Grove Alta. was confirmed for the team in November after two season with French UCI Pro Continental team Direct Energie. Britton, 33, of Regina, Sask. won the Tour of Utah in 2017 and has been plying his trade in North America for years. The Utah win was the biggest of his career.

“Winning Utah was massive for me and more specifically, it was really special how we did it,” said Britton. “After I won the time trial, the team really took control and there was never a moment through the whole week I was left unprotected. Winning the race was great, far and away the biggest result of my career. But the way the team rode that week was next level and so important to taking home the overall.”

Canadian road champion Dal-Cin, 26, of Ottawa developed on Silber Pro Cycling before making the jump to Rally last year. During his first season with the squad he won a stage at the Tour de Beauce and the Tour of the Gila. Adam de Vos, 24, of Victoria has been with Rally since 2016 and has been developing with the team while picking up results along the way like second at the 2017 Joe Martin Stage Race and the win at Raiffeisen Grand Prix Judendorf in Europe.

Nigel Ellsay, 23, of Courtney, B.C. is the newest Canadian on the men’s team coming to the American squad from Silber Pro Cycling. He was second to Svein Tuft in the individual time trial at 2017 nationals as well as picking up strong results in North American stage races for the past couple of years.

Left to right: Poidevin, Bergen, Beveridge, Maine and Lay at the 2017 Canadian road championships won by Beveridge. Lay was second.

Alongside the five men who have now been confirmed to race for Rally, six Canadian women have places on the 2018 UCI women’s roster. Sara Bergen, Allison Beveridge, Gilliam Ellsay, Kirsti Lay, Katharine Maine and Sara Poidevin will wear the colours of Rally for a total of 11 Canadian riders on the team. Canadian road champion Beveridge along with Lay are 2016 Olympic bronze medalists for Canada. Poidevin won the 2017 Colorado Classic, Bergen represented Canada at the 2017 world championships.

Canadian staff members include women’s team director Zach Bell, men’s team director Eric Wohlberg and mechanic Rick Barrow.

The men’s team also confirmed the return of double 2017 Tour of California stage winner and Tour of Alberta champion Evan Huffman, veteran Danny Pate, young American time trialist Brandon McNulty, sprinter Eric Young among other established members of the team. Rally also brought in fresh talent like Ty Magner and Robin Carpenter for 2018.

Rally Cycling Men’s 2018 roster

Ryan Anderson
Jesse Anthony
Rob Britton
Robin Carpenter
Matteo Dal-Cin
Adam de Vos
Nigel Ellsay
Charles Bradley Huff
Evan Huffman
Colin Joyce
Ty Magner
Brandon McNulty
Kyle Murphy
Emerson Oronte
Danny Pate
Eric Young

Rally Cycling Women’s 2018 Roster

Erica Allar
Sara Bergen
Allison Beveridge
Kelly Catlin
Gillian Ellsay
Heidi Franz
Megan Heath
Kirsti Lay
Katherine Maine
Abigail Mickey
Summer Moak
Sara Poidevin
Emma White

Report error or omission


Leave a Reply