Home > News

Maggie Coles-Lyster wins Road Race at Tucson Bicycle Classic

Ariane Bonhomme leads the G.C. in Arizona stage race

After a strong season indoors at the inaugural UCI Track Champions League, B.C.’s Maggie Coles-Lyster is rolling into road season at pace. The Canadian won Saturday’s road race at the Tucson Bicycle Classic with her DNA Pro Cycling.

Coles-Lyster pad back to work of her DNA Pro Cycling rider, who pushed the pace all day in the women’s pro event. Coles-Lyster beat InstaFund Racing’s Rylee McMullen and Canadian Olympian Ariane Bonhomme (The Cyclery Racing) at the line.

Kaitlyn Rauwerda (DNA Pro Cycling) followed close behind in fifth and Holly Simonson (Red Truck Racing) a few spots back in ninth put four Canadians in the top-10 on Saturday.

Bonhomme holds onto a 14-second advantage from Friday’s ITT results. She leads the overall at the Tucson Bicycle Classic with only Sunday’s criterium race remaining. Bonhomme recently competed at the Tokyo Olympics as part of Canada’s Women’s Track Pursuit squad, finishing fourth.

Results: 2022 Tucson Bicycle Classic – Road Race (Sat, March 5)

1 Maggie COLES-LYSTER DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:08.
2 Rylee MCMULLEN InstaFund Racing 3:41:08.
3 Ariane BONHOMME The Cyclery Racing 3:41:09.
4 Cara ONEILL UA Cycling 3:41:09.
5 Kaitlyn RAUWERDA DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:09.
6 Florence HOWDEN Cardinal Classic Cycling 3:41:09.
7 Erica CLEVENGER DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:09.
8 Susej ESQUEDA SDBC Powered by Bonnici Law Group p/b UC Cyclery 3:41:10.
9 Holly SIMONSON Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes 3:41:10.
10 Morgan STERN Cardinal – Classic Cycling 3:41:10.
11 Allison MRUGAL Cardinal Classic Cycling 3:41:10.
12 Diana PENUELA DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:10.
13 Kira PAYER DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:10.
14 Anet BARRERA DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:11.
15 Josephine PELOQUIN Emotional.fr Tornatech GSC Blagnac VS31 3:41:12.
16 Sydney BERRY Team Illuminate 3:41:15.
17 Meghan HENRY 3:41:15.
18 Erika ACKERLUND 3:41:15.
19 Kimberly LUCIE DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:20.
20 Heidi FRANZ InstaFund Racing 3:41:21.
21 Holly HENRY InstaFund Racing 3:41:23.
22 Caileigh FILMER Cyclery Racing 3:41:24.
23 Rebecca RICHARDS Storey Racing 3:41:30.
24 Daphne KARAGIANIS DNA Pro Cycling Team 3:41:32.
25 Brenna PAULY Red Truck Racing pb/ Mosiac Homes 3:41:32.
26 Maddy WARD InstaFund Racing 3:41:44.
27 Helena CONEY InstaFund Racing 3:47:01.
28 Stella NIGHTINGALE InstaFund Racing 3:47:01.
29 Chloe WOODRUFF CZracing/Bicycle Haus 3:54:13.
30 Jane TULLIS Robson Forensic P/B Extra Sweet 3:56:23.
31 Doris SCHWEIZER InstaFund Racing 3:56:55.
32 Brenna WRYE-SIMPSON DNA Pro Cycling Team 4:06:54.
33 Fabiola GARCIA SDBC Powered by Bonnici Law Group p/b UC Cyclery 4:06:54.
34 Paige KOSTANECKI ButcherBox Cycling 4:14:59.